ICL002: Omnimous – Always Not There

After posting a preview, a mix of tracks by artists involved and an interview with photographer Ian Hazeldine, today is the day when we let the lid completely off the debut Omnimous release. This anonymously produced experimental record pools together a wide collection of different sound artists and assembles their sounds into a crumbling, decaying form of electro-acoustic Techno.

ICL002 | Omnimous – Always Not There

‘Always Not There is the first album from anonymous artist ‘Omnimous’, scheduled for digital release on the Irregular Crates label.

The blueprints for this album were laid out when we put out an open invitation for artists to submit audio samples. These were collected and passed to an anonymous producer who was charged with assembling them into a record. As a result several artists regardless of genre have collaborated to create something truly unique in ‘Always Not There’.

Field recordings, noise, radio broadcasts, drones, instruments, synths have all been warped and assembled into a lo-fi framework of Deep House and Techno focused beats. With the producer’s identity remaining anonymous, the collective arrangement of the various samples and layers of detail become greater than the sum of its parts.

The album’s concept draws from the photography of Ian Hazeldine who visited several abandoned houses. Always Not There spares a thought towards the fading human emotions and experiences from such abandoned property as the decaying structure is all that remains. House was supposed to be a spiritual thing; a soul thing. Now there is nothing but decay.’

Artists included are:
6&8, Arbee, ARS Moderna, Chris Dooks, Darren McClure, Endraum, Eric Boivin, Foci’s Left, Ilir Lluka, Loose Link, Mindover MIDI, Neil Carter, Nystada, Offland, Ombilicum, PJE, Spheruleus, The Brett Family, The Inventors of Aircraft, The Sly and Unseen, Twincities

released 14 April 2014 
Written and produced by Omnimous 
Photography by Ian Hazeldine 
Artwork by Irregular Crates