ICP018 Irregular Crates Podcast 018

ICP018 cover

We’ve gone a bit ridiculous this morning and recorded two podcasts! It has been a while and we’d planned a playlist around April/May time which never quite materialised, so we thought we’d leave the computer to automatically mix and record the show.

Again, this one largely focuses on music from this year, kicking things off with Miguel Isaza’s track from the recent Earthtones compilation on Tessellate Recordings. Pretty much the first half of this show is Ambient territory, with tracks following from Marsen Jules, Ruhe, Silmus, Bill Seaman and Federico Durand. Things take a downtempo turn after the 40 minute mark with a track from 2006 – ‘August Moon‘ by Evolve. From there we continue in beat-driven territory, firstly with chilled jazziness by Uffe, then vintage 80s synth sounds from Palmbomen II and rounded off with quite a few varying House sounds. These begin life with dubbiness from Stefan Jos and Local Artist before going Deeper and funkier in Lay-Far and Lee Webster via some old-school 90s House by Vincent Floyd. The mix closes with a track from Magnofon’s recent album ‘Smallroom Breaks‘ as well as a remix on the Touched compilation by the same artist. Things draw to a close with the Escaping Animals remix of Juxta Phona’s ‘We Are The Shakers

Artwork by Bethany Towell


1. Miguel Isaza – Alborada
2. Marsen Jules – Kayi
3. Ruhe – Glade
4. Silmus – Close To Light
5. Visionary Hours – Reaches Into Silence
6. North Side Drive – One
7. Bill Seaman – Shadow Detail
8. Boxhead Ensemble – Golden Mitre
9. Federico Durand – III
10. James Place – Sense Of An Ending
11. Evolve – August Moon
12. Uffe – For A While
13. Palmbomen II – Lorraine Kelleher
14. Stefan Jos – Inside Voices
15. Local Artist – Feelings (Digital Dub)
16. Lay-Far – Pia
17. Vincent Floyd – Dawn Notes
18. Lee Webster – It Feels
19. Magnofon – Forever
20. Sir Catipuss – Smithereen (Magnofon Remix)
21. Juxta Phona – We Are The Shakers (Escaping Animals Remix)